December 10th , 2022



featured img

2 months ago

ɑːˈd/ (listen) a-KUUF-oh ah-DOH;[1] born 29 March 1944) is a Ghanaian politician who has served as the president of Ghana since 7 January 2017.[2][3] In 2020, he was re-elected for his second term, which will end on 6 January 2025.[4][5] Akufo-Addo previously served as Attorney General from 2001 to 2003 and as Minister for Foreign Affairs from 2003 to 2007 under the Kufuor-led administration.[6] He was elected as the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) chairman on 7 September 2020 at the 57th ECOWAS Summit, held in Niamey, capital of Niger to replace Nigerien President, Mahamadou Issoufou.[7] He was re-elected for a second term as the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWASChairman on 2 February 2021.[8] He ended his term by delivering his last address as Chairman of the regional body at the 61st Ordinary Session of the Authority of ECOWAS Heads of State and Government in AccraGhana on 3 July 2022. The Authority of Heads of State, in a closed-door session after the opening ceremony of the summit, elected the President of Guinea-BissauUmaro Mokhtar Sissoco Embaló, as ECOWAS Chairman to succeed President Akufo-Addo. [9] Akufo-Addo is also the current Commander-in-Chief (C-in-C) of the Ghana Armed Forces (GAF)[10]

Nana Akufo-Addo
Nana Akufo Addo, Jan. 2020.jpg
Akufo-Addo in 2020
5th President of Ghana
Assumed office
7 January 2017
Vice PresidentMahamudu Bawumia
Preceded byJohn Mahama
35th Chair of the Economic Community of West African States
Assumed office
2 June 2020
Preceded byMahamadou Issoufou
25th Minister of Foreign Affairs
In office
1 April 2003 – 1 July 2007
PresidentJohn Kufuor
Preceded byHackman Owusu-Agyeman
Succeeded byAkwasi Osei-Adjei
16th Attorney General of Ghana
In office
7 January 2001 – 1 April 2003
PresidentJohn Kufuor
Preceded byObed Asamoah
Succeeded byPapa Owusu-Ankomah
Member of Parliament
for Akim Abuakwa South
In office
7 January 2005 – 6 January 2009
Preceded byConstituency established
Succeeded bySamuel Atta Akyea
Member of Parliament
for Abuakwa

In office


Connect and interact with amazing Authors in our twitter community